The Heart of CAbi Foundation Video

by Ted Cockle

Heart of CAbi FoundationEvery 6 months for the past three and a half years (with the exception of this past summer when I got married) I have had the privilege of working with a small team from the CAbi home office to put together a short movie documenting the work the Heart of CAbi Foundation has accomplished in the previous season (matching the clothing seasons of Spring and Fall).  This season was no exception, check out the latest movie here!

Each year we are presented with the challenge of coming up with a new way of presenting the information without completely throwing away what everyone is comfortable with.  The team I work with is great and offers great input.  My task is to take the suggestions and make them work.  While I consider my self proficient with my editing programs,  there is still much to learn.  With each new movie I learn something new about the programs and expand my experience in film making.  This past season’s move, for instance, I finally felt like I got decent understanding of the numerous file types, aspect ratios, and codecs.  There is always more to learn.

Each year we also come up against some sort of technical challenge.  As with any video editing, technical failure is common, if not expected.  Over the years I have learned ways of minimizing the risk with multiple saving locations and backups on external harddrives.   This season, things seemed to be moving along smoother than ever, and the night before the final project was due we were still without any hiccups.  That’s why I couldn’t sleep that night.  I dreamt about something terrible happening.  It always does.  I just prefer it towards the beginning when there’s time enough to make up for the lost time.  This time however, no amount of backups or extra harddrives could have made the situation better.  When I went to boot up the computer the next morning (I let it rest that night) there was nothing but the slow and steady flash of the LED on front, the last beats of his dying heart.  No whirring of fans, no spinning up of hard disks, nothing.  My faithful editing companion had died!  I took him to the doctor’s office (apple genius bar) that day and was told he was “not looking good.”  After a few preliminary tests, my sleek silvery friend was declared, for all intents and purposes, critical.  Total mother board failure!  Yikes!   Before he was sent of to apple to get his “heart transplant,” the doctor (apple genius) was able to pull off the final full-resolution video file I had completed the night before.

So there I was the due date of the film, without a computer to make any edits, with a 6GB video file on a jump-drive that was up for last feedback from the team at CAbi.  The problem was getting a 6GB file all the way to CA so they could review it.  With some extreme patience from the team, we finally were able to use dropbox to transfer the file.**  After they watched it, the team gave final approval and the movie was sent off to the Scoop production teams.  While there is always technical difficulty, there is always a way to deliver the project, it just takes a little troubleshooting and creativity to find it.

All this to say, it has been a major learning experience and blessing to work on these films over the years.

The most recent movie was recently posted on the foundation’s website.  Check it out!

*COMPUTER UPDATE:  You’ll be happy to know that my computer was completely fixed and returned at absolutely no charge thanks to the extended Apple Care plan.  Woohoo!

**(If you haven’t heard of dropbox, it’s pretty cool you should check it out.  It allows you to have an online folder easily accessible from any computer with internet access.  A great way to share files between your work and home computers.)

